Courgette with Quinoa-Soft Cheese filling and Mango sauce

Wow that sounds exotic, right? Which makes it a perfect recipe to escape this dismal weather.IMG_1943

I dicovered the recipe on eatsmarter.de.

For one portion, boil 20g of quinoa for 15 minutes in 200ml vegetable stock. In the meantime you can cut the courgette into halves and scrape out the seeds with a teaspoon. Place them on a baking dish covered with baking paper.

IMG_1939

Mix 75g of soft cheese with 1 teaspoon of grounded almonds, season with salt and pepper. Preheat the oven at 200°C.

The quinoa should be ready by now, so that you can pour it into a colander, let it drain a bit and add it to the soft cheese-almonds mixture. Fill it into the  halved and deseeded courgette, sprinkle with some raped cheese if you like cheese as much as I do and

put it into the oven for 30 minutes.

IMG_1949

Peel a small mango, cut it into cubes and mash them with immersion blender. Well, now you are supposed to squeeze in the juice of half a lime, cut a couple of mint leaves and add a pinch of sambal oelek. Unfortunately I had neither mint nor sambal oelek in the kitchen and I assume that’s why I was a bit disappointed of the result. After 25 minutes (not 30 as prescribed) impatient me got the courgettes out of the oven and served them with the mango sauce.. or rather mango mash.

It was good, I mean it was okay, but it didn’t knock my socks off. If anybody tries it with mint and sambal oelek, let me know whether that adds the special touch I missed.IMG_1941

A negative point is that there is no use for the seeds you scraped out of the courgette -I don’t like to throw away food. I also have some left-over from the mango mash -will have it with my breakfast tomorrow morning! 🙂

At least these filled courgettes are really filling! Keep you sated for 5 hours, I can tell! Not bad for a dish that contains only 250 kcal per portion, eh?

Leave a Reply

